libguestfs-talks.git
3 months agogoals: Fix tactic/predicate mix up in one slide. master
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 21 Feb 2020 13:51:08 +0000 (13:51 +0000)]
goals: Fix tactic/predicate mix up in one slide.

3 months agoFurther goals slides updates.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 21 Feb 2020 12:47:07 +0000 (12:47 +0000)]
Further goals slides updates.

3 months agoUpdate notes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 21 Feb 2020 12:47:01 +0000 (12:47 +0000)]
Update notes.

3 months agoUpdated goals talk for tech talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 20 Feb 2020 11:21:36 +0000 (11:21 +0000)]
Updated goals talk for tech talk.

Tactics -> predicates.

Mention other todo items.

Other cleanups.

4 months agoUpdate notes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 16 Jan 2020 22:05:23 +0000 (22:05 +0000)]
Update notes.

4 months agoUpdate notes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 20:41:26 +0000 (20:41 +0000)]
Update notes.

4 months agoFurther goals notes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 19:27:31 +0000 (19:27 +0000)]
Further goals notes.

4 months agoStart on goals presentation.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 13 Jan 2020 22:53:21 +0000 (22:53 +0000)]
Start on goals presentation.

4 months agoUpdate notes on goals.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 12 Jan 2020 22:14:29 +0000 (22:14 +0000)]
Update notes on goals.

4 months agoAdd notes for talk on goals.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 11 Jan 2020 15:16:07 +0000 (15:16 +0000)]
Add notes for talk on goals.

6 months ago2800: Larger font.
Eric Blake [Thu, 31 Oct 2019 11:32:28 +0000 (12:32 +0100)]
2800: Larger font.

6 months ago6600: Slightly nicer terminal window.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 23:10:56 +0000 (00:10 +0100)]
6600: Slightly nicer terminal window.

6 months ago8400: Replace <pre> graph with <table>.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 16:17:55 +0000 (17:17 +0100)]
8400: Replace <pre> graph with <table>.

6 months ago8300: Graphics showing polling.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 15:56:53 +0000 (16:56 +0100)]
8300: Graphics showing polling.

6 months ago8200: Graphics for on-wire packets.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 15:27:44 +0000 (16:27 +0100)]
8200: Graphics for on-wire packets.

6 months ago8000: Use graphics in header row.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 14:06:16 +0000 (15:06 +0100)]
8000: Use graphics in header row.

6 months agoAvoid sudo during restore.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 13:22:48 +0000 (14:22 +0100)]
Avoid sudo during restore.

Although mknod requires sudo, rm does not.

6 months ago6200: Reduce dependency on particular username.
Eric Blake [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 08:55:16 +0000 (09:55 +0100)]
6200: Reduce dependency on particular username.

Requires the external creation of a symlink vddk-6.7.

6 months ago6800 - add f-bird as a backup.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 08:47:10 +0000 (08:47 +0000)]
6800 - add f-bird as a backup.

6 months ago1000 - tighten up text and remove Xs
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 08:43:43 +0000 (08:43 +0000)]
1000 - tighten up text and remove Xs

6 months agoAdd final 2500 slide about imageio.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 30 Oct 2019 08:41:16 +0000 (08:41 +0000)]
Add final 2500 slide about imageio.

7 months agoOnly add table borders when desired.
Eric Blake [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 14:21:01 +0000 (15:21 +0100)]
Only add table borders when desired.

7 months ago8000: Add pro/con table.
Eric Blake [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 13:57:08 +0000 (14:57 +0100)]
8000: Add pro/con table.

7 months ago4300: Polish slide by changing <pre> to <table>.
Eric Blake [Mon, 28 Oct 2019 13:31:03 +0000 (14:31 +0100)]
4300: Polish slide by changing <pre> to <table>.

7 months agoRemove redundant lines from ./restore script.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 27 Oct 2019 15:50:01 +0000 (15:50 +0000)]
Remove redundant lines from ./restore script.

7 months agoAdd Oscar's FBird demo.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 27 Oct 2019 15:49:54 +0000 (15:49 +0000)]
Add Oscar's FBird demo.

7 months agoUpdates to lightning talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 22:01:34 +0000 (23:01 +0100)]
Updates to lightning talk.

7 months ago4500: Replace <pre>-graph with nicer image.
Eric Blake [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 15:56:07 +0000 (10:56 -0500)]
4500: Replace <pre>-graph with nicer image.

7 months agoUpdate lightning talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 12:54:35 +0000 (13:54 +0100)]
Update lightning talk.

7 months agoOutline lightning talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 26 Oct 2019 11:49:22 +0000 (12:49 +0100)]
Outline lightning talk.

7 months ago9000: Replace XXX with summary line.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 22:16:42 +0000 (17:16 -0500)]
9000: Replace XXX with summary line.

7 months ago4700: Color-code nbdkit changes.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 21:29:52 +0000 (16:29 -0500)]
4700: Color-code nbdkit changes.

7 months agoTweak minimum version of nbdkit to match fast-zero and reflection demos.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 21:15:51 +0000 (16:15 -0500)]
Tweak minimum version of nbdkit to match fast-zero and reflection demos.

7 months ago6600, 6800: Use banner function for credits.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 20:23:53 +0000 (21:23 +0100)]
6600, 6800: Use banner function for credits.

7 months agoMake titles larger red background, white text.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 20:17:18 +0000 (21:17 +0100)]
Make titles larger red background, white text.

Also add a banner function which can be used by other code for the
same effect.  Unfortunately we cannot reuse that function to display
the title.

7 months agoTweak $title display in .term/.sh.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 20:06:15 +0000 (15:06 -0500)]
Tweak $title display in .term/.sh.

7 months ago2600: Highlight raw.xz.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 20:09:25 +0000 (21:09 +0100)]
2600: Highlight raw.xz.

7 months ago4700: Make filters box large enough to contain all filters.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 20:08:58 +0000 (21:08 +0100)]
4700: Make filters box large enough to contain all filters.

7 months agoEnsure logo does not collide with <h1> horizontal bar.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 19:33:31 +0000 (14:33 -0500)]
Ensure logo does not collide with <h1> horizontal bar.

7 months agoDrop 41xx slides dissecting an NBD command.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 18:08:46 +0000 (13:08 -0500)]
Drop 41xx slides dissecting an NBD command.

Instead, save the script backstory for offline, and leave the power of
nbdkit to the 6000 slides.  The 4000 slides now focus on just
improving qemu-img convert.

7 months agoSwap slides about qemu-nbd in imageio and rhv to kubevirt.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 17:36:07 +0000 (18:36 +0100)]
Swap slides about qemu-nbd in imageio and rhv to kubevirt.

Improves flow.

7 months agoDrop slide 2500 about replacing TFTP.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 17:28:55 +0000 (18:28 +0100)]
Drop slide 2500 about replacing TFTP.

Not very interesting.

7 months agoUse Pyrit demo, also by Jan Kadlec.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 17:25:42 +0000 (18:25 +0100)]
Use Pyrit demo, also by Jan Kadlec.

7 months agoMisc updates to 2xxx slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 09:56:39 +0000 (10:56 +0100)]
Misc updates to 2xxx slides.

7 months agoAdd potential graph to 4500.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 04:54:52 +0000 (23:54 -0500)]
Add potential graph to 4500.

Need an actual graphic rather than a <pre>, but this was quick-and-dirty.

7 months agoFirst cut at 8000- slides to match notes.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 04:38:06 +0000 (23:38 -0500)]
First cut at 8000- slides to match notes.

7 months agoUpdate 4700 with actual list, note about file.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 04:09:25 +0000 (23:09 -0500)]
Update 4700 with actual list, note about file.

7 months agoTweaks to ./restore.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 03:55:46 +0000 (22:55 -0500)]
Tweaks to ./restore.

Only attempt sudo when needed, vet myself as willing to use it

7 months agoInitial notes for 8000 slides on resize.
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 20:24:04 +0000 (15:24 -0500)]
Initial notes for 8000 slides on resize.

7 months agoMore work on the 4000- fast zero slides.
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 18:54:55 +0000 (13:54 -0500)]
More work on the 4000- fast zero slides.

7 months agoUpdate nbdkit script box to 1.14 release.
Eric Blake [Fri, 25 Oct 2019 03:20:56 +0000 (22:20 -0500)]
Update nbdkit script box to 1.14 release.

Still needs a style.css change to make it look good...

7 months agoMention xfce4-terminal as requirement for .sh slides.
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 22:17:20 +0000 (17:17 -0500)]
Mention xfce4-terminal as requirement for .sh slides.

7 months ago6200, 6400: Use pushd/popd so we run ./restore in the right directory.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 20:32:45 +0000 (21:32 +0100)]
6200, 6400: Use pushd/popd so we run ./restore in the right directory.

7 months agoList requirements in one file.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 19:51:39 +0000 (20:51 +0100)]
List requirements in one file.

So if we have to jump on to a new laptop at short notice, we
know what we need to install.

7 months ago2300, 2500: Further fixes to slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 14:19:32 +0000 (15:19 +0100)]
2300, 2500: Further fixes to slides.

7 months ago2200: Fix lost text.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 14:17:46 +0000 (15:17 +0100)]
2200: Fix lost text.

Fixes commit 30bd9d843e14cb6db9f42fa60e7a023a5e5ca86d.

7 months agoContinue 6000 slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 11:35:58 +0000 (12:35 +0100)]
Continue 6000 slides.

7 months agoUse div class=allcenter around all images.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 11:37:18 +0000 (12:37 +0100)]
Use div class=allcenter around all images.

This centers them on the page.

7 months ago6000-series of slides about fun things to do with nbdkit
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 08:47:06 +0000 (09:47 +0100)]
6000-series of slides about fun things to do with nbdkit

7 months agoAdd setup slide for fastzero demo.
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 01:59:52 +0000 (20:59 -0500)]
Add setup slide for fastzero demo.

7 months agoFix .term bindings for commands with embedded ".
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 02:25:04 +0000 (21:25 -0500)]
Fix .term bindings for commands with embedded ".

The history file was correct (using reverse search or up arrow), but
the key binding needs injected escapes to have correct syntax.

7 months agoAdd beginnings of final slide.
Eric Blake [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 20:29:08 +0000 (15:29 -0500)]
Add beginnings of final slide.

7 months agoRun with self-built binaries.
Eric Blake [Thu, 24 Oct 2019 02:26:35 +0000 (21:26 -0500)]
Run with self-built binaries.

Necessary since I want to demo features that are not yet in stable
releases, so stock Fedora 30 binaries don't show off more recent
additions.

Assumes that ~/d/$PROJ is the build directory for each of qemu,
nbdkit, and libnbd.  (Matches what was done in 2019-tech-introductions)

7 months agoInitial fast zero case study notes.
Eric Blake [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 15:31:07 +0000 (10:31 -0500)]
Initial fast zero case study notes.

Slides will be in the 4000- range

7 months agoMinor updates to introduction.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 15:27:02 +0000 (16:27 +0100)]
Minor updates to introduction.

7 months agoAdd more introduction section slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 12:26:28 +0000 (13:26 +0100)]
Add more introduction section slides.

2200-point-in-time-snapshot.html
2300-virt-v2v-to-vddk.html
2400-qemu-nbd-server.html
2450-convert-rhv-to-kubevirt.html
2500-nbdkit-linuxdisk-remote-boot.html
2600-remote-boot-risc-v.html
2700-nbdkit-sh-for-testing.html
2800-communicate-between-processes.html

7 months agoFirst two slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 12:03:08 +0000 (13:03 +0100)]
First two slides.

7 months agoUse Red Hat Text font.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 10:05:10 +0000 (11:05 +0100)]
Use Red Hat Text font.

Note: In Fedora requires "redhat-text-fonts" package installed.

7 months agoUpdate to new Red Hat brand.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 10:01:57 +0000 (11:01 +0100)]
Update to new Red Hat brand.

7 months agoBegin 2xxx section which will be the short introduction to NBD.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 09:55:05 +0000 (10:55 +0100)]
Begin 2xxx section which will be the short introduction to NBD.

7 months agoFix Eric's email address.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 09:53:02 +0000 (10:53 +0100)]
Fix Eric's email address.

7 months agoHighlight NBD definition in abstract.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 09:52:00 +0000 (10:52 +0100)]
Highlight NBD definition in abstract.

7 months agoRemove old lines from .gitignore.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 09:51:16 +0000 (10:51 +0100)]
Remove old lines from .gitignore.

7 months agoAdd outline first slide of talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 23 Oct 2019 09:38:33 +0000 (10:38 +0100)]
Add outline first slide of talk.

7 months agoAdd slide about using NBD to test Fedora RISC-V VMs.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 22 Oct 2019 13:23:09 +0000 (14:23 +0100)]
Add slide about using NBD to test Fedora RISC-V VMs.

7 months agoAdd notes for a short introduction to NBD.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 22 Oct 2019 12:19:01 +0000 (13:19 +0100)]
Add notes for a short introduction to NBD.

7 months agoAdd qemu, qemu-nbd changes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 18 Oct 2019 10:48:40 +0000 (11:48 +0100)]
Add qemu, qemu-nbd changes.

7 months agoChanges in nbdkit.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 18 Oct 2019 10:36:45 +0000 (11:36 +0100)]
Changes in nbdkit.

7 months agoChanges in libnbd.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 17 Oct 2019 15:49:43 +0000 (16:49 +0100)]
Changes in libnbd.

7 months agoBackground papers for NBD talk.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 17 Oct 2019 15:04:34 +0000 (16:04 +0100)]
Background papers for NBD talk.

11 months agoAdd placeholder for discussion about NBD.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 19 Jun 2019 01:59:41 +0000 (02:59 +0100)]
Add placeholder for discussion about NBD.

11 months agoSet PATH to include local nbdkit.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 19 Jun 2019 01:58:15 +0000 (02:58 +0100)]
Set PATH to include local nbdkit.

11 months agoAdd list of topics.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 19 Jun 2019 01:58:09 +0000 (02:58 +0100)]
Add list of topics.

11 months agoAdd pre-slides about virt-v2v, IMS.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 18 Jun 2019 14:41:38 +0000 (15:41 +0100)]
Add pre-slides about virt-v2v, IMS.

11 months agoUpdate benchmark results.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 13 Jun 2019 07:38:14 +0000 (08:38 +0100)]
Update benchmark results.

11 months agoAdd slides about metadata.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 12 Jun 2019 10:22:23 +0000 (11:22 +0100)]
Add slides about metadata.

11 months agoAdd tech introductions.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 11 Jun 2019 16:59:04 +0000 (17:59 +0100)]
Add tech introductions.

15 months agoMin version of nbdkit 1.8.3.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:52:21 +0000 (12:52 +0000)]
Min version of nbdkit 1.8.3.

Contains at least one security fix.

15 months agorestore: Unmount floppy from mountpoint automatically.
Richard W.M. Jones [Thu, 31 Jan 2019 12:02:42 +0000 (12:02 +0000)]
restore: Unmount floppy from mountpoint automatically.

15 months agoScale nbdraid canvas according to screen size.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 16:39:36 +0000 (16:39 +0000)]
Scale nbdraid canvas according to screen size.

15 months agoFurther fixes to final slide.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 14:51:17 +0000 (14:51 +0000)]
Further fixes to final slide.

15 months agoFix some highlighting issues.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 14:45:37 +0000 (14:45 +0000)]
Fix some highlighting issues.

15 months agoGet rid of fdisk from ramdisk demo.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 14:44:09 +0000 (14:44 +0000)]
Get rid of fdisk from ramdisk demo.

15 months agoUse xz filter instead of plugin, but apply cow layer.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 12:33:41 +0000 (12:33 +0000)]
Use xz filter instead of plugin, but apply cow layer.

xz filter in readonly mode is broken!

15 months agoRevert "Use xz filter instead of plugin."
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 12:31:27 +0000 (12:31 +0000)]
Revert "Use xz filter instead of plugin."

This reverts commit 1a05962641f14d3fc015ac67326f60cd34c42b6f.

15 months agoUse xz filter instead of plugin.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 12:18:35 +0000 (12:18 +0000)]
Use xz filter instead of plugin.

15 months agoAdd floppy plugin demonstration.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 12:10:52 +0000 (12:10 +0000)]
Add floppy plugin demonstration.

16 months agoAdd introduction to section 6 plugins.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Jan 2019 22:22:06 +0000 (22:22 +0000)]
Add introduction to section 6 plugins.

16 months agoAdd badblocks section 5 introductory slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Jan 2019 21:41:49 +0000 (21:41 +0000)]
Add badblocks section 5 introductory slides.

16 months agoRemove some non-essential plugin and filter slides.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 25 Jan 2019 21:35:57 +0000 (21:35 +0000)]
Remove some non-essential plugin and filter slides.