libguestfs.git
11 years agoVersion 1.0.54 1.0.54
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 16:33:52 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Version 1.0.54

11 years agoCheck for XML::Writer dependency for virt-inspector.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 16:33:32 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Check for XML::Writer dependency for virt-inspector.

11 years agoRemove generated files in make clean.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 16:33:08 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Remove generated files in make clean.

11 years agoMerge commit 'et/master'
Matthew Booth [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 15:27:05 +0000 (16:27 +0100)]
Merge commit 'et/master'

11 years agoFix for 'broken pipe' error when qemu dies (RHBZ#508713).
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 15:22:10 +0000 (16:22 +0100)]
Fix for 'broken pipe' error when qemu dies (RHBZ#508713).

11 years agoGenerated code for mount-loop command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 15:05:22 +0000 (16:05 +0100)]
Generated code for mount-loop command.

11 years agoAdd mount-loop command (RHBZ#508668).
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 15:03:54 +0000 (16:03 +0100)]
Add mount-loop command (RHBZ#508668).

Loop device mounts don't work for the generic 'mount' commands
because the first parameter should be a file not a device.

We want to separate out files parameters from device parameters
in the long term, so this adds a new mount-loop command for this
purpose.

11 years agoFix memory leak in daemon/mount.c:do_mount_vfs.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 15:00:49 +0000 (16:00 +0100)]
Fix memory leak in daemon/mount.c:do_mount_vfs.

11 years agoOutput the config filename containing a modprobe alias in XML
Matthew Booth [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 14:34:29 +0000 (15:34 +0100)]
Output the config filename containing a modprobe alias in XML

This change affects the XML output:

/operatingsystems/operatingsystem/modprobealiases/alias/text() =>
/operatingsystems/operatingsystem/modprobealiases/alias/modulename/text()

Additionally there are two new elements:

/operatingsystems/operatingsystem/modprobealiases/alias/augeas
/operatingsystems/operatingsystem/modprobealiases/alias/file

These contain information about the location of the alias directive.
/augeas is an augeas path. /file is the path of the file containing the
directive.

11 years agoTodo list: More suggestions.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 14:18:04 +0000 (15:18 +0100)]
Todo list: More suggestions.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'initrd-list'.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 14:18:17 +0000 (15:18 +0100)]
Generated code for 'initrd-list'.

11 years agoAdd 'initrd-list' command to list contents of initrd images.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 14:16:40 +0000 (15:16 +0100)]
Add 'initrd-list' command to list contents of initrd images.

Add 'initrd-list' command to list the files inside (new-style)
initrd images.  Update virt-inspector to use this instead of
the less efficient download/unpack locally method.

11 years agoAdd a comment to device naming heuristic
Matthew Booth [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 13:39:27 +0000 (14:39 +0100)]
Add a comment to device naming heuristic

11 years agoGenerated code for 'du' command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:47:20 +0000 (12:47 +0100)]
Generated code for 'du' command.

11 years agoAdded 'du' command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:46:59 +0000 (12:46 +0100)]
Added 'du' command.

This command estimates file usage for files and directories.

11 years agoGenerated code for df / df-h.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:26:11 +0000 (12:26 +0100)]
Generated code for df / df-h.

11 years agoAdd 'df' and 'df-h' commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:25:31 +0000 (12:25 +0100)]
Add 'df' and 'df-h' commands.

df and df-h commands can be used interactively to show disk
space usage.

Use existing statvfs command from programs.

11 years agoTodo: Removed suggestion for short form for pipes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:09:52 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
Todo: Removed suggestion for short form for pipes.

11 years agoImplement "more" and "less" commands in guestfish.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 11:05:58 +0000 (12:05 +0100)]
Implement "more" and "less" commands in guestfish.

Use commands such as:
  more /etc/passwd
  less /etc/fstab

These commands are specific to guestfish.

11 years agoTodo list: Pipes now implemented, so remove from list.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 10:48:50 +0000 (11:48 +0100)]
Todo list: Pipes now implemented, so remove from list.

11 years agoGenerated code for head/tail commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 10:47:07 +0000 (11:47 +0100)]
Generated code for head/tail commands.

11 years agoImplement "head", "head-n", "tail", "tail-n" commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 10:46:19 +0000 (11:46 +0100)]
Implement "head", "head-n", "tail", "tail-n" commands.

These commands let you view parts of a large file without
passing the whole file over the network connection.

11 years agoPrevent 'n' being used as a parameter name.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 10:18:19 +0000 (11:18 +0100)]
Prevent 'n' being used as a parameter name.

Parameters named 'n' sometimes break the Perl bindings, so
check for this in the generator and prevent it.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'wc_*' commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 09:09:13 +0000 (10:09 +0100)]
Generated code for 'wc_*' commands.

11 years agoTodo: wc command done.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 09:08:59 +0000 (10:08 +0100)]
Todo: wc command done.

11 years agoImplementation of 'wc_c', 'wc_w' and 'wc_l' commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 09:08:25 +0000 (10:08 +0100)]
Implementation of 'wc_c', 'wc_w' and 'wc_l' commands.

These commands count characters, words and lines in a file respectively.

11 years agoImplement TEST_ONLY environment variable to run selected tests only.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:53:51 +0000 (09:53 +0100)]
Implement TEST_ONLY environment variable to run selected tests only.

To run just selected tests, do:
  TEST_ONLY="hexdump mkfs" make -C capitests check

11 years agoAdd large test files with standard content for the C API test.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:43:54 +0000 (09:43 +0100)]
Add large test files with standard content for the C API test.

Large test files with standard content for the C API test, and
add a regression test for previous hexdump failure on large files.

11 years agoTodo: RUN_ONLY_FOR
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:43:38 +0000 (09:43 +0100)]
Todo: RUN_ONLY_FOR

11 years agoTodo: 'wc' command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:39:08 +0000 (09:39 +0100)]
Todo: 'wc' command.

11 years agoGuestfish pipes.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 27 Jun 2009 13:00:48 +0000 (15:00 +0200)]
Guestfish pipes.

11 years agoHaskell bindings: Implement bindtests.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 28 Jun 2009 11:54:22 +0000 (13:54 +0200)]
Haskell bindings: Implement bindtests.

11 years agoHaskell bindings: Int and Int64 return types.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 28 Jun 2009 11:34:11 +0000 (13:34 +0200)]
Haskell bindings: Int and Int64 return types.

11 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://g-rjones@et.redhat.com/git/libguestfs
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 28 Jun 2009 11:28:30 +0000 (13:28 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://g-rjones@et.redhat.com/git/libguestfs

11 years agoHaskell bindings: fix boolean arguments.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 28 Jun 2009 11:27:33 +0000 (13:27 +0200)]
Haskell bindings: fix boolean arguments.

11 years agoHaskell bindings: Fix integer arguments.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sun, 28 Jun 2009 11:17:23 +0000 (13:17 +0200)]
Haskell bindings: Fix integer arguments.

11 years agoClean up XML output
Matthew Booth [Fri, 26 Jun 2009 10:29:14 +0000 (11:29 +0100)]
Clean up XML output

This change makes XML use XML::Writer, and modifies the output in the
following 2 ways:

* /operatingsystems/operatingsystem/os is renamed to
  /operatingsystems/operatingsystem/name

* /operatingsystems/kernels/version becomes an attribute of
  /operatingsystems/kernel for consistency with initrds

11 years agoMake virt-inspector look in more places for module aliases
Matthew Booth [Thu, 25 Jun 2009 16:19:29 +0000 (17:19 +0100)]
Make virt-inspector look in more places for module aliases

Specifically:
/etc/conf.modules
/etc/modules.conf
/etc/modprobe.conf
/etc/modprobe.d/*

11 years agoAdd yaml output for virt-inspector
Matthew Booth [Thu, 25 Jun 2009 13:33:26 +0000 (14:33 +0100)]
Add yaml output for virt-inspector

11 years agoMake run-inspector-locally try to work out where it is installed
Matthew Booth [Thu, 25 Jun 2009 09:17:37 +0000 (10:17 +0100)]
Make run-inspector-locally try to work out where it is installed

This change means that you can run run-inspector-locally from any
directory. You can also symlink to it and it'll do the right thing. This
means you can put a symlink to run-inspectory-locally in your path
called 'virt-inspector', and 'guestfish -i' will work.

11 years agoMore TODO items for future work.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 20:18:43 +0000 (21:18 +0100)]
More TODO items for future work.

11 years agoAllow guestfish -i / virt-inspector on live domains, in limited circumstances.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 19:10:53 +0000 (20:10 +0100)]
Allow guestfish -i / virt-inspector on live domains, in limited circumstances.

11 years agoFix detection of optional libvirt support in virt-inspector.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 19:04:58 +0000 (20:04 +0100)]
Fix detection of optional libvirt support in virt-inspector.

11 years agoDocument the guestfish --version option in the manual page.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 19:01:41 +0000 (20:01 +0100)]
Document the guestfish --version option in the manual page.

11 years agoClarify documentation for mkdtemp.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 18:57:24 +0000 (19:57 +0100)]
Clarify documentation for mkdtemp.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'mkdtemp' command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 17:25:09 +0000 (18:25 +0100)]
Generated code for 'mkdtemp' command.

11 years agoAdd mkdtemp command.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 17:22:37 +0000 (18:22 +0100)]
Add mkdtemp command.

11 years agoVersion 1.0.53. 1.0.53
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 16:16:17 +0000 (17:16 +0100)]
Version 1.0.53.

11 years agoFix libvirt integration in virt-inspector.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 14:36:58 +0000 (15:36 +0100)]
Fix libvirt integration in virt-inspector.

11 years agoFix permissions on generated scripts in the appliance/ directory.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 14:35:59 +0000 (15:35 +0100)]
Fix permissions on generated scripts in the appliance/ directory.

11 years agoVersion 1.0.52. 1.0.52
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 11:41:24 +0000 (12:41 +0100)]
Version 1.0.52.

11 years agoQuote command line arguments to virt-inspector.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 11:15:57 +0000 (12:15 +0100)]
Quote command line arguments to virt-inspector.

11 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://g-rjones@et.redhat.com/git/libguestfs
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 10:55:57 +0000 (11:55 +0100)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://g-rjones@et.redhat.com/git/libguestfs

11 years agoAdded guestfish -i option to run virt-inspector.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 10:54:48 +0000 (11:54 +0100)]
Added guestfish -i option to run virt-inspector.

You can invoke guestfish with:
 guestfish -i libvirt-domain
 guestfish -i disk-image(s)

11 years agoFix dependencies in perl so it doesn't always rebuild
Matthew Booth [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 10:50:08 +0000 (11:50 +0100)]
Fix dependencies in perl so it doesn't always rebuild

11 years agoImplement guestfish -f option to allow guestfish scripts.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 08:59:39 +0000 (09:59 +0100)]
Implement guestfish -f option to allow guestfish scripts.

New '-f' option allows scripts to be written using:
 #!/usr/bin/guestfish -f

11 years agoIncorrect assignment on glob error path.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 08:56:34 +0000 (09:56 +0100)]
Incorrect assignment on glob error path.

11 years agoTodo items: guestfish options -i and -f.
Richard W.M. Jones [Wed, 24 Jun 2009 08:45:14 +0000 (09:45 +0100)]
Todo items: guestfish options -i and -f.

11 years agoImplement libtool library versioning.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 21:02:10 +0000 (22:02 +0100)]
Implement libtool library versioning.

Use maximum proc_nr (MAX_PROC_NR) as a surrogate for the
library ABI version, resulting in version numbers such as
libguestfs.so.0.<MAX_PROC_NR>.0 for the final library.

Add ABI guarantee to the documentation.

11 years agoMake the supermin helper look for any x86 kernel
Matthew Booth [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 16:35:40 +0000 (17:35 +0100)]
Make the supermin helper look for any x86 kernel

If you've got a non-PAE kernel installed on an i686 machine, the kernel
architecture is i586. This change makes sure that supermin finds the
installed kernel.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'scrub-*' commands.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 14:53:44 +0000 (15:53 +0100)]
Generated code for 'scrub-*' commands.

11 years agoAdded 'scrub-*' commands for securely scrubbing filesystems.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 14:53:21 +0000 (15:53 +0100)]
Added 'scrub-*' commands for securely scrubbing filesystems.

11 years agoBump up default guest size to 500M.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 14:52:45 +0000 (15:52 +0100)]
Bump up default guest size to 500M.

11 years agoUpdated Polish translation (RHBZ#502533).
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 09:17:59 +0000 (10:17 +0100)]
Updated Polish translation (RHBZ#502533).

11 years agoCommand line argument handling.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 09:07:46 +0000 (10:07 +0100)]
Command line argument handling.

11 years ago'-no-kqemu' option is no longer necessary to avoid a warning.
Richard W.M. Jones [Tue, 23 Jun 2009 07:27:52 +0000 (08:27 +0100)]
'-no-kqemu' option is no longer necessary to avoid a warning.

11 years agoVersion 1.0.51 1.0.51
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 16:02:15 +0000 (17:02 +0100)]
Version 1.0.51

11 years agoAdd whitespace to the init script (no functional change).
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 15:53:24 +0000 (16:53 +0100)]
Add whitespace to the init script (no functional change).

11 years agoIssue MAKEDEV commands in a loop (RHBZ#507374).
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 15:43:42 +0000 (16:43 +0100)]
Issue MAKEDEV commands in a loop (RHBZ#507374).

11 years agoCheck parameter types in Ruby bindings (RHBZ#507346).
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 14:07:42 +0000 (15:07 +0100)]
Check parameter types in Ruby bindings (RHBZ#507346).

11 years agoImprove error message when appliance doesn't match library.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 13:24:52 +0000 (14:24 +0100)]
Improve error message when appliance doesn't match library.

11 years agoMissing \n character in Ruby bindings.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 13:14:45 +0000 (14:14 +0100)]
Missing \n character in Ruby bindings.

11 years agoMake CHROOT_IN/OUT macros should loudly if the syscall fails.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:40:57 +0000 (12:40 +0100)]
Make CHROOT_IN/OUT macros should loudly if the syscall fails.

11 years agoInclude the lsof package.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:24:27 +0000 (12:24 +0100)]
Include the lsof package.

11 years agoCheck return value from close() call.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:24:14 +0000 (12:24 +0100)]
Check return value from close() call.

11 years agoThe 'debug sh' command now uses a real shell.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:23:56 +0000 (12:23 +0100)]
The 'debug sh' command now uses a real shell.

11 years agotest-boot-realistic rule should boot the rescue shell.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:23:31 +0000 (12:23 +0100)]
test-boot-realistic rule should boot the rescue shell.

11 years agoRebuild supermin appliance when the daemon is updated.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:23:12 +0000 (12:23 +0100)]
Rebuild supermin appliance when the daemon is updated.

11 years agoVersion 1.0.50. 1.0.50
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 09:02:11 +0000 (10:02 +0100)]
Version 1.0.50.

11 years agoAdd 'glob' command for guestfish.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 08:35:43 +0000 (09:35 +0100)]
Add 'glob' command for guestfish.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'glob-expand'.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 07:20:42 +0000 (08:20 +0100)]
Generated code for 'glob-expand'.

11 years agoAdd 'glob-expand' command.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 07:20:32 +0000 (08:20 +0100)]
Add 'glob-expand' command.

11 years agoGenerated code for 'sh' and 'sh-lines' commands.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 06:49:50 +0000 (07:49 +0100)]
Generated code for 'sh' and 'sh-lines' commands.

11 years agoAdd 'sh' and 'sh-lines' commands.
Richard Jones [Mon, 22 Jun 2009 06:49:37 +0000 (07:49 +0100)]
Add 'sh' and 'sh-lines' commands.

11 years agoCheck return value from waitpid call in command*() functions.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 20 Jun 2009 15:05:12 +0000 (16:05 +0100)]
Check return value from waitpid call in command*() functions.

11 years agoAdd strong note about deprecation of functions which take either device names or...
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 20 Jun 2009 14:30:39 +0000 (15:30 +0100)]
Add strong note about deprecation of functions which take either device names or filenames.

11 years agoCheck return value from pclose.
Richard W.M. Jones [Sat, 20 Jun 2009 13:55:49 +0000 (14:55 +0100)]
Check return value from pclose.

11 years agoUpdate to-do list. 1.0.49
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 18:48:19 +0000 (19:48 +0100)]
Update to-do list.

11 years agoGenerated files for 1.0.49.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 18:48:05 +0000 (19:48 +0100)]
Generated files for 1.0.49.

11 years agoPrepare for version 1.0.49.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 18:28:51 +0000 (19:28 +0100)]
Prepare for version 1.0.49.

11 years agoSupermin: choose newest available kernel.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 17:25:38 +0000 (18:25 +0100)]
Supermin: choose newest available kernel.

11 years agoMove init script into a separate file.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 13:47:22 +0000 (14:47 +0100)]
Move init script into a separate file.

11 years agoMove distro package list to a separate packagelist.in file.
Richard W.M. Jones [Fri, 19 Jun 2009 13:26:44 +0000 (14:26 +0100)]
Move distro package list to a separate packagelist.in file.

11 years agoAdd tab-completion of guest filenames (currently disabled).
Richard Jones [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 20:06:22 +0000 (21:06 +0100)]
Add tab-completion of guest filenames (currently disabled).

11 years agocheck for Debian tools
Guido Günther [Mon, 15 Jun 2009 18:27:52 +0000 (20:27 +0200)]
check for Debian tools

11 years agoRemove unreadable binaries that give warnings in supermin appliance.
Richard Jones [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 13:37:12 +0000 (14:37 +0100)]
Remove unreadable binaries that give warnings in supermin appliance.

11 years agoRename guestfs-supermin-helper -> libguestfs-supermin-helper.
Richard Jones [Thu, 18 Jun 2009 13:27:20 +0000 (14:27 +0100)]
Rename guestfs-supermin-helper -> libguestfs-supermin-helper.

11 years agoVersion 1.0.48. 1.0.48
Richard Jones [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 10:22:31 +0000 (11:22 +0100)]
Version 1.0.48.

11 years agoDon't compress the supermin base initramfs.
Richard Jones [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 09:55:36 +0000 (10:55 +0100)]
Don't compress the supermin base initramfs.

11 years agoReverse sense of whitelist test.
Richard Jones [Tue, 16 Jun 2009 08:56:44 +0000 (09:56 +0100)]
Reverse sense of whitelist test.